top of page

5 Fitness Favorites

This week seemed to fly by. It maybe that I took Monday off or maybe it is because I was able to hear my sweet baby boy's heartbeat yesterday morning. Either way it was a good week filled with many favorites. Especially when it came to working out. For whatever reason I felt great this week when working out. I have not had this feeling for a whole week in a while (perks of being pregnant). If you follow me on Instagram you know that I have slowed down on my working out, but have still worked out on a pretty consistent basis. Here are some of my favorite exercises from this week.

Walk/Run// When I first got pregnant I could not run to save my life because I was so nauseous all the time. I worried that I was going to have to give it up for my whole pregnancy. However, as the morning sickness seemed to subside I was able to run, but not as fast and I had some other things happened that concerned me. That is when I turned to the walk/run exercise that I try to do a couple of times a week. This exercise allows you to either start out your running journey or keep going when you are pregnant and can't seem to do full out runs. I usually walk for 10 minutes before adding any sort of run. Right now I am only running at a 5.0 on the treadmill. While it seems slow to me it has kept me safe and that is my biggest concern right now. For other treadmill workout click here.

Walking Lunges// This exercise keeps to pop up as my favorite time and time again. I usually do these towards the end of my leg day. I always feel like I am going to die while I do them, but I feel great after completing this workout. There are two different ways to do walking lunges. You can just do left leg and then right leg or vice versa. Or you can add in a squat in between them. This adds a little more intensity. For more leg workouts click here.

Prenatal Yoga// Before getting pregnant I would do regular yoga. I enjoy doing yoga because it gives you the deep stretch that you sometimes just need. It is great for increasing your flexibility. Prenatal yoga obviously isn't as intense as regular yoga, but it helps me to get ready for delivery and it helps me to connect more with my sweet baby boy.

Tricep Dips// I have been doing tricep dips for a while now, but they have recently become one of my favorite exercise to incorporate into my chest and tricep day. If you want to increase the intensity try to do pulse tricep dips or burn out dips. Pulse dips are when you do 3-5 quick dips. Tricep dip burn outs is usually done on the assisted tricep dip machine. You will start off with a lower weight and do as many as you can and then go to the next weight down and continue this process until you cannot do anymore. For more upper body workouts click here.

Dumbbell Chest Press: This is an exercise that I switched to halfway through my second trimester since I was no longer to do bench due to having to lay on my back. This alternative is such a good one. It truly works your chest and shoulders.

To see more fitness exercises click here. What are some of your favorite workout exercises?

POPULAR POSTS

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

Join our Mailing List

Never Miss an Update

bottom of page